Socially distant ceremony held for MUSC Storm Eye Institute graduates

July 17, 2020
Socially distant graduation

The Storm Eye Institute at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) held its annual resident and fellow graduation ceremony June 18, 2020, in the Stanley H. and Theodora L Feldberg Auditorium. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, all participants were required to wear masks, seats were spaced out, and the ceremony was held in stages to control room capacity. Family members joined virtually, and one of the graduates joined virtually as well. Although it was not the graduation we originally planned, it was a memorable one.

We are proud to have a program that attracts the best and brightest students from across the globe, which is evidenced by their success following graduation from the MUSC Storm Eye Institute.

What’s next for the Class of 2020:

Susannah Brown – Susannah is continuing her education with a fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) in oculoplastics. After she completes her fellowship, Susannah will return to Storm Eye as the head of trauma service. We are thrilled to have her come back to work with us!

Sudeep Das – Sudeep is taking the summer to do some fishing, and plans to stay in Charleston to practice general ophthalmology at the Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center.

Matthew Kapeles – Matthew is moving to Omaha, Nebraska, and will continue his education with a cornea and refractive fellowship at Kugler Vision.

Margaret Powell – Margaret will continue her education with a glaucoma fellowship at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Rachel Fuerst – Rachel will move to Louisiana and continue practicing pediatric ophthalmology at Louisiana State University.

Scott Davis – Scott will move to the Upstate and continue practicing pediatric ophthalmology at Jervey Eye Group in Greeneville.

Laura Magnuson – Laura plans to work in private practice. She will also continue to work at the Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center in downtown Charleston.

Colin Brown – Colin is moving to South Dakota to practice cornea and refractive surgery at a private practice.

Faculty and student awards

Students, faculty members and staff were also recognized at the June 18 ceremony. 


Pierre Gautier Jenkins Teaching Award: Jeffrey Blice, M.D.

Program Director Award: Susannah Brown, M.D.

Richard A. Saunders Residency Award: Susannah Brown, M.D.

Vallaton Award (OKAPS Award): Matthew Kapeles, M.D.

Helma Research Award: Molly Orban, M.D.

Surgical/OR Nurse of the Year: Dottie Aimar

Ophthalmic Technician of the Year: April Trow, COT

Admin of the Year: Janet Hall


Keywords: Awards