Academic Affairs Faculty Senators

During the yearly Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) Faculty Senate elections, four Senators and two Alternates are elected to represent the Academic Affairs Faculty.  Senators serve a two-year term, and Alternates serve a one-year term.

Academic Affairs Faculty Purpose

AAF Senators help to coordinate faculty responses to issues raised within the Senate, and their votes reflect the opinions of the AAF as a whole.  AAF Senators and Alternates also serve on committees within the Senate, and lend their expertise in the areas of education, research, and clinical care.  The Electoral Unit Leader is responsible for gathering and sharing AAF news with the Faculty Senate.

Faculty Senate Leadership

Adam J. Smolka, Ph.D., AGAF
Faculty Senate President
College of Medicine

Latecia M. Abraham-Hilaire, DHA, MHA
Electoral Unit Leader
MUSC Library - Public Information and Community Outreach

Emily Brennan, MLIS
Faculty Senate Secretary
MUSC Libraries

Faculty Senators

Melissa Hortman, EdD
Instructional Technology and Faculty Resources

R.J. Lambert (also unit rep)
Center of Academic Excellence/Writing Center

Casey O’Neill
Center of Academic Excellence/Writing Center

Lynn Veatch
Office of the Vice President for Research

Faculty Senator Alternates

Jason Smith
MUSC Libraries

If you have information that you would like shared with the Faculty Senate, please submit electronically to the Electoral Unit Leader by the first Monday of each month.

Faculty List

To view/search all current MUSC faculty members please visit the MUSC Faculty Directory.

Appointment, Promotion, & Tenure (APT) Guidelines

The Academic Affairs Faculty APT Guidelines are included in the MUSC Faculty Handbook (page 85) along with APT Guidelines for each college.