access intranet after hours circle-arrow apply blog caret circle arrow close closer look community outreach community outreach contact contact us down arrow facebook lock solid find a provider find a clinical trial find a provider find a researcher find faculty find-a-service how to apply join leadership left arrow locations logo make a gift map location maximize minimize my chart my chart notification hp notification lp next chevron right nxt prev pay your bill play previous quality and safety refer a patient request a speaker request appointment request an appointment residents corner rss search search jobs Asset 65 submit a story idea symptom checker Arrow Circle Up twitter youtube Dino Logo External Link University Logo Color University Logo Solid Health Logo Solid Arrow Right Circle Book Calendar Date Calendar Search Date Diploma Certificate Dollar Circle Donate Envelope Graduation Cap Map Pin Map Search Phone Pills Podcast
Stethoscope 2018

Organizations & Leadership


Student Representation on CON Committees

Undergraduate Program Committee:

  • Jake Forrester
  • Duane Froes
  • Tyler Hunter

Research Committee:

  • Leila Forney (PhD student)
  • Kim Pickett (DNP student)
  • Maria Ingraham (non-doctoral student)

Diversity Committee:

  • Juliette Brown (BSN student)
  • Theresa Wyatt (DNP student)

PhD Committee:

  • Allison Adrian
  • Katherine Katzenberger

Graduate Program Committee:

  • Cheryl Jones (DNP)
  • Mary Shearer (DNP)

The Honor Council of the College of Nursing has as its purpose to infuse the highest standards of character while providing a model for professional behaviors.  As with The University as a whole, the College of Nursing (CON) asks that its students develop academically and morally while being supported by the advice, constructive criticism, enthusiasm, and example of peers, faculty and mentors.  As such, it is the responsibility of each College of Nursing Student to read and adhere to MUSC’s Honor Code.

The CON Honor Council consists of the following members: 2 students from RN-BSN cohort, 2 students from aBSN fall cohort, 2 students from aBSN spring cohort, 1 MSN student, 3 DNP students, and 2 PhD students. These individuals have the job of educating their peers on the purpose and scope of the MUSC Honor Code. Each appointed representative must be familiar with and abide by the Honor Code, such that they may serve as both an example and a resource for their peers on the spirit and letter of the Honor Code. Additionally, honor council members periodically must serve as investigators of alleged infractions, as well as participate in hearings with the utmost impartiality and confidentiality.

Students will be appointed by the Undergraduate, Graduate, or PhD Program Committees. Persons interested in serving on the CON Honor Council may let the Program Director know. Students are appointed to serve throughout their curriculum. If a student is unable to complete the term, another appointment will be made by the appropriate Program Committee.

January 2018 Honor Council

President: Wendy Hatchell*

Vice President:



  • Karen Jaramillo
  • Emmie Baggett

Class of May 2018

  • Newman Kadeidre Gaymon
  • Caroline Wright
  • Brenda Ruiz
  • Alexis Clark
  • Mary Cummings
  • Mary Catherine Gill
  • Doug Simpson
  • Nicolette Jacinto

PhD Students

  • Matt Couture
  • Allison Adrian


  • Lynne Nemeth, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
  • Michelle Nichols, Ph.D., R.N.

*Officers & Representatives
Revised: 03/13/18

The Student Nurses Association is a preprofessional nursing student organization. The goal is to introduce nursing students to their future career by providing leadership opportunities and educational advancement. Student Nurses' Association By-Laws

2019 Officers

Tori Sanna, President
Jeni Achelis, Vice President
Hailey Gobin, Secretary
Haley Lewis, Historian/Elections Director
Christian Myers, Breakthrough to Nursing
Olivia Hobbs, Community Service Director


Myckayla Gailliard(4th semester)

Casey Long & Caroline Osburn(2nd semester)

National Student Nurses Association
Student Nurses Association of South Carolina

The College of Nursing Student Government Association works on behalf of the students by facilitating the exchange of information of ideas between students, faculty, and administration; representing student opinions, needs, and interests. College of Nursing Student Government Association By-Laws


  • take action to increase the quality of student services and academic programs to further enhance the education of students
  • plan and execute a variety of social, cultural, and recreational events to promote fellowship, personal growth, and interaction with MUSC students and the university community, and
  • maintain a budget with all the allocated funds to serve the MUSC student body most efficiently.

2019 Student Government Officers
Raven Anderson, President
Johnson Duncan, Vice President
Onyinyechi Peace Ajukwa, Secretary
Zach Sidman, Treasurer
Rachel Sampson, Social Coordinator

Advisor: Dr. Kristen Poston

University-wide and college-related student organizations offer College of Nursing students opportunities to develop their leadership skills; to serve their fellow students, the Charleston community; and/or their profession; to explore new and old interests; and to have a good time with other involved students, staff, and faculty.

Nursing students are expected to demonstrate professional leadership as part of their learning experience. Below is a sample of nursing student leadership opportunities:


  • Alliance for Hispanic Health
  • Bahai Association of MUSC
  • Crisis Ministries
  • Gay Straight Alliance
  • Humanitas
  • International Student Organization
  • Intramural
  • Jewish Association
  • Medical Campus Outreach
  • Medical History Club
  • Multi-Cultural Student Advisory Board
  • MUSC Gives Back
  • MUSC Student Government Association
  • Muslim Student Association
  • Presidential Scholars
  • Public Health Interest Group

College of Nursing

  • College of Nursing Student Government Association
  • Hispanic Health Initiative Scholars
  • Honor Council
  • Research Honors Practicum
  • Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honor Society
  • Student Nurse's Association
  • Undergraduate, Graduate, and Doctoral Program Committees
  • Evaluation and Program Effectiveness Committee