Resources and Tools

 

Faculty and Staff Resources

Student Resources

Web Developer Resources

Blackboard Ally

Blackboard Ally is an accessibility tool that is embedded into the university’s learning management system, Harbor. This feature provides an accessibility score for files that are uploaded into Harbor, as well as alternative file formats for students to download.

Introducing Blackboard Ally!

To help ensure students have access to their digital learning materials in formats that work for their different devices, learning needs, and preferences, Harbor includes a new tool called Ally. Next to the course files, students will find an icon with a dropdown menu. Simply click the icon, and select “Alternative Formats.” You will see a list of options from which to choose. Download speed will depend on the file size.

Depending on the type of document, you many find some or all of the options below available:

  • An OCRed PDF which is used to improve the text of scanned documents
  • A Tagged PDF with improved navigation, especially if you use a screen reader
  • An HTML version that will be adjust text for your mobile devices
  • An ePub version if you use an eReader or tablet
  • An Electronic Braille version if you’re a braille reader
  • An audio version for listening to an MP3

The Learn Open LMS (Harbor) Course for Students is available!

The Learn Open LMS Student Edition course is designed to help students familiarize themselves with the common educational technology tools and systems in place throughout the university. Topics covered include Harbor, Panopto, Blackboard Ally, Turn It In, Blackboard Collaborate, Box and the Intelliboard Learner Dashboard. If you have access to Harbor as a student, this course will now be available in your “My Courses” menu.

Harbor Digital Accessibility Course Sign-up

This course is designed to introduce participants to the foundations of digital accessibility and how to incorporate best practices into creating accessible content.

Office 365 Digital Accessibility Resources 

The Office 365 Accessibility Resource site provides instructions and support on how to create accessible content within the Microsoft suite.

Panopto Captioning

The Panopto captioning resource site provides details on how to add closed captions into any recorded video.

Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)

WebAIM

University of Washington DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) Center

 

Contacts by College

College of Dental Medicine

Daniel Berg bergd@musc.edu

College of Graduate Studies

Erica Lugo lugoe@musc.edu

College of Health Professions

Lynda Marshall       marshlyn@musc.edu

College of Medicine

Allison Legget          Leggett@musc.edu

Ben Rogers               rogerb@musc.edu

Inda Humes             johnsi@musc.edu

Jennifer Nall            nallj@musc.edu

College of Nursing

Leslie Morris            morrisl@musc.edu

College of Pharmacy

Roby Hill                   hilro@musc.edu

Robert Maguire      maguirer@musc.edu

Shannon Drayton draytons@musc.edu

 

Other Department Contacts

Academic Affairs Faculty

Melissa Hortman    hortmanm@musc.edu

Library

Eric Lemon               lemone@musc.edu

DLAR

Lisa Nelson               nelson@musc.edu

Division of Education and Student Affairs

Alex Walters            walteale@musc.edu

Hollings Cancer Center

Williams Morganweck      morgenww@musc.edu

Pamela Roberts               robertpa@musc.edu

University Human Resources

Lydia Diaz diazl@musc.edu