Office of Enrollment Management

Car Insurance

Car Insurance

Car insurance is required by law in the state of South Carolina. Auto liability and uninsured motorist are required to legally drive in the state.

Explore South Carolina's laws on car insurance.

When searching for car insurance you may see or hear 25/50/25 or 100/300/100. These refer to the amounts the insurance company will pay out for a claim.

South Carolina auto liability requirements are 25/50/25. What does this mean?

South Carolina Minimum Liability Requirements

South Carolina Minimum Liability Requirements

What is uninsured motorist coverage?

Although required by law to carry auto insurance, Forbes estimates that 10.9% of drivers in South Carolina did not carry car insurance in 2019. That means 1 in 10 drivers carry no car insurance and would not be able to pay for damages or bodily injury caused in an accident.

You are required by law to have uninsured motorist coverage. This policy protects you against drivers who do not have car insurance and are found at fault for the accident. Your insurance company will pay the claim.

You can also have underinsured motorist coverage which would cover you if the at-fault driver does not carry enough insurance to cover the damages. Companies are required by law to offer you underinsured motorist, but it is not required for you to purchase.

Examine state minimum coverage (PDF).

Collision coverage

This is an optional add-on that covers the damage to the insured’s car after colliding with another object, such as a car, fence, or tree.

Comprehensive coverage

This pays for the damage to a vehicle from other causes. This could include flooding, a tree falling on it, theft, and so on. This will also include broken glass, such as damage to the windshield. South Carolina law prohibits insurance companies from charging a deductible to fix windshields if comprehensive is carried.

Both collision and comprehensive coverage are optional in South Carolina. When purchasing car insurance, it is necessary for you to determine how much risk you want to transfer. The more risk that is transferred to the insurance company usually means the higher your premium is.

How can you maintain enough coverage while reducing costs?

- Pay a higher deductible. Rather than pay $250 per claim, be willing to $500 or $1000 per claim
- Maintain a safe driving record
- Earn good grades! Most companies offer a “good student” discount. So, ASK!
- Shop around using an independent agent
- Pay semi-annually or annually to receive a discount
- Take a defensive driving class and tell the company
- Improve your credit score to reduce insurance rates
- Bundle multiple insurances