Find Faculty Members at MUSC.

Ernest Benjamin Clyburn MD

Chairman of Internal Medicine

Provider Image
  • Professor
  • College of Medicine
  • Medicine
Academic Focus
  • Medical Education
Faculty email addresses should not be used to seek medical advice or to make medical appointments. Please visit MyChart for medical appointments or to contact your provider.


Office Location


Ben Clyburn, M.D., is a professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Medicine. In his role as chairman, Dr. Clyburn oversees the clinical, education, and research programs of the department, which consists of 10 divisions and is the largest at the MUSC College of Medicine.

Dr. Clyburn joined MUSC in 1997 as the Associate Residency Program Director in Internal Medicine, and then assumed the role of Program Director two years later. During his career at MUSC, he has held numerous leadership positions, including, Secretary, Vice President, and President of the Medical Staff; Associate Dean for GME-Faculty Development; Senior Associate Dean for GME and CME; and Designated Institutional Official (DlO) for Graduate Medical Education (current). He has served on the Nonprescription Drugs Advisory Committee for the U.S. FDA and served eight years on the ACGME Review Committee for Internal Medicine.  A Fellow of the American College of Physicians, Dr. Clyburn has also served as an active member of the Society of General Internal Medicine and the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine. He has been the recipient of a number of other honors including Best Doctors of America and the Golden Apple Award.

Dr. Clyburn attended medical school at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC), and then completed his residency at Wake Forest University. He subsequently was Chief Medical

Resident at Wake Forest, and then joined the faculty at the University of Texas, Galveston prior to joining MUSC.