Team Up for Better Teaching

Team-Up for Better Teaching is a collaboration between the Office of Interprofessional Initiatives and the MUSC’s Apple Tree Society.  This program specifically seeks to bring together educators, clinicians, and researchers from all colleges and departments at MUSC with the goal of providing a framework for interprofessional (IP) team training strategies and principles that can be applied to teaching both outside and inside of the classroom in clinical, research, and/or academic settings.  

Participants in the program will attend sessions weekly over one semester to learn teamwork strategies and principles relevant to TeamSTEPPS® and Team-Up for Better Health.  Advanced teaching methods, technologies, and skill-development will be introduced. In addition, it is expected that participants will spend approximately one hour per week outside of class completing group activities, watching videos, and/or completing assigned readings prior to class. Each participant in the program will present a proposal for an applied project of his/her choice and receive feedback from the other program members on ways to enhance the impact of their proposal.  

Participants completing the program will receive a certificate of completion and will serve on the Board of Directors for the next annual program iteration. The program Board of Directors selects the participants for the following year.  It is recommended that graduates serve as resources/mentors for MUSC initiatives.

Team Up For Better Teaching 2018 Participants

Dental Sciences

John Comisi, DDS
Clinical Assistant Professor

Pinar Emecen-Huja, DDS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Division of Periodontics
Department of Stomatology

Jessica Hathaway-Schrader, MS, PhD
Post-doctoral fellow
Department of Oral Health Sciences

Health Professions

Debora D. Brown, PT, DPT, FNAP
Professor and Assistant Director, Division of Physical Therapy
Director of Clinical Education

Naomi Sampson, MHA, PMP
Director, Executive Operations and Project Management
Instructor, Department of Healthcare Leadership and  Management

Bryant A. Seamon, PT,DPT, NCS, CSCS
PhD Student, Department of Health Sciences and Research

Library Sciences

Christine Andresen, MLS, MSIT
Research and Education Informationist


Dvud Asemani, PhD
Post-Doc Research Fellowship
Department of Radiology

Michael J Kern, PhD
Department of Regenerative Medicine and Cell Biology
Department of Oral Health Sciences (Dental Sciences)
Director, Dental Scientist Training Program and Oral Health T32

M.A. McCrackin, PhD, DVM
Associate Professor, Comparative Medicine
Director, Surgical Research Laboratory
Veterinary Medical Officer, VAMC

Richard Rissmiller, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Sleep Medicine

Nursing (MUH)

Greta L. Fowinkle DNP, RN, CMAC
Director of Case Management and Care Transitions


Jennifer  Wisniewski,  PharmD, BCPS
Assistant Professor,
Clinical Pharmacy & Outcome Sciences