MUSC College of Medicine 2021 Alumni Award recipients

Alumni Affairs
May 24, 2021
MUSC Alumni Awards College of Medicine 2021 recipients

The MUSC Alumni Association is proud to honor and recognize the following College of Medicine alumni for their outstanding contributions to the profession of medicine and to society, and for notable accomplishments in biomedical research, clinical practice or medical education with distinction bestowed locally, nationally or internationally.

The Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Award is given to one or more MUSC College of Medicine graduates who have demonstrated pride and loyalty toward MUSC and who, by their integrity and stature, have brought honor to the university and will be continuing role models for all persons in all aspects of medicine. The 2021 College of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award recipients are Dr. Marion “Ed” Wilson ’80 and Dr. Reginald Munden ’90.

Distinguished Alumnus Award – Dr. Marion “Ed” Wilson ’80

Marion Wilson

Dr. Marion “Ed” Wilson, a 1980 graduate of the MUSC College of Medicine, has dedicated more than four decades to an exemplary career and improving the lives of those he serves through his exceptional care and research efforts.

Wilson received his bachelor’s from Clemson University before attending MUSC. After an internship and residency in ophthalmology at the National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland, Wilson completed a fellowship in pediatric ophthalmology at the Children’s National Medical Center in Washington D.C. under the direction of Dr. Marshall Parks. Wilson is board certified in ophthalmology and is a life fellow of the American Academy of Ophthalmology.

Currently, Wilson is the N. Edgar Miles Professor of Ophthalmology and Pediatrics at the MUSC Health Storm Eye Institute. He served as Storm Eye Institute residency program director from 1990 to 1998 and Storm Eye Institute director, Pierre G. Jenkins Professor and ophthalmology department chair from 1996 to 2011.

At MUSC and the Storm Eye Institute, Wilson serves as pediatric ophthalmology fellowship program director. He is also on the appointment, promotion, tenure, and mentoring committee. He is a career-in-medicine mentor for medical students and a promotion and tenure mentor for academic faculty members. On a national scale, he serves in a leadership role on several clinical trials, including his role on the steering committee of the Infant Aphakia Treatment Study.

Wilson is a former member and past president of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS) board of directors. He is also a past chair of the governing council and past president of the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS).

Wilson served a full eight-year term on the editorial board of the Journal of AAPOS and more than 10 years as executive editor of the American Journal of Ophthalmology. He has been elected to the prestigious American Ophthalmological Society, and the Association for Research in Strabismus (“The Squint Club”). In 2017, he was elected to another exclusive group known as the International Intraocular Implant Club. He is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Medical Honor Society and actively supports the MUSC chapter of AOA.

Wilson’s research interests include surgical techniques for treating pediatric cataracts, as well as the full range of strabismus in children and adults. Wilson has given more than 700 invited presentations at national and international conferences, including 23 named lectures. He has written or contributed to 27 books and published more than 250 scientific papers, chapters and invited editorials on a wide variety of subjects. Wilson has trained residents and fellows for more than 30 years and maintains a large referral practice, receiving patients for consultation and surgery from around the world. He has been selected by his peers as one of the Best Doctors in America and named on U.S. News & World Report (top 1% in the U.S.) of America’s Top Doctors.

Wilson has received a Life Achievement Honor Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology and a Lifetime Achievement Award from the AAPOS.

According to Wilson’s nominator, “Thousands of children in South Carolina have benefited from his dedication. In addition to his superior medical skills, he is an excellent person and visionary leader. His exemplary career serves as a model for all those who have attended and will attend MUSC.”

Distinguished Alumnus Award – Dr. Reginald Munden ’90

Reginald Munden

Dr. Reginald “Reggie” Munden ’90 has brought honor to MUSC through his visionary leadership and contributions to health care, and he continues to be a role model for all persons in all aspects of medicine.

Munden is professor and chair of the MUSC department of radiology. Previously he served as executive director of the imaging service line at Wake Forest School of Medicine and Health System.

He is a 1981 graduate of the MUSC James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine and a 1990 graduate of the MUSC College of Medicine. He completed his diagnostic radiology residency at MUSC in 1994, followed by a thoracic imaging fellowship at Harvard Medical School’s Brigham and Women’s Hospital. He also earned his MBA from Auburn University. Munden worked for 14 years in various leadership roles at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC), to which he attributes his academic success and love of thoracic oncologic imaging. He held several leadership positions before joining Wake Forest as chair, including serving as department chair of radiology at Houston Methodist Hospital and Research Institute and the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine.

Munden’s research emphasis is on lung cancer and lung cancer screening. He has extensive experience in lung cancer screening, including serving as the National Lung Screening Trial (NLST) site principal investigator (PI) for MDACC. He has been involved in several subsequent projects analyzing NLST data, most recently, in incidental lung findings on chest computed tomography (CT) scans and the impact on lung cancer screening. He is the lead author on two white papers for the American College of Radiology regarding management of incidental lung nodules and findings on thoracic CTs.

Munden is active in numerous national and international radiology associations and has served in multiple leadership roles. Currently he serves as treasurer of the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) Research & Education Foundation board of trustees and the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) Executive Council. The RSNA is one of the largest medical professional societies in the world and ARRS is the second largest radiology professional organization in the United States.

Munden and his wife Martha, an accomplished academic radiologist and fellow MUSC College of Medicine graduate (College of Medicine in 1988, MUSC Diagnostic Radiology in 1992 and MUSC Pediatric Radiology Fellowship in 1993), have maintained a close physical and emotional connection with the South Carolina Lowcountry and MUSC.

In April 2021, Munden returned to MUSC to assume the role of chair for the Department of Radiology. Martha works in pediatric radiology.

Munden’s nominator shared that, “The medical center and its alumni are fortunate to have such an accomplished leader in radiology back at MUSC working to make medical imaging more effective for health care providers and their patients.”

Congratulations to the 2021 MUSC Alumni Association Award recipients! We are proud of you and are honored to recognize your achievements as MUSC College of Medicine alumni.