August Dean's Message

Zoher F. Kapasi
August 20, 2021
Dean Zoher

Dear CHP alumni and donors,  

Please join me in acknowledging and celebrating the wonderful accomplishments of our College of Health Professions team.  

  • Kit Simpson, DrPH was recently named a Distinguished University Professor by the MUSC Board of Trustees.
  • The MS in Speech-Language Pathology Program has been granted candidacy status by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA) of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association and will welcome its first cohort this fall.
  • Michelle Woodbury, Ph.D., OTR/L, and her team recently received a Duke Endowment grant award for the project titled “Integrating Stroke Telerehabilitation into MUSC’s Telehealth Network.” Woodbury is the principal investigator on the project and Kit Simpson, DrPH, is a co-investigator. The project goal is to integrate, for the first time, stroke telerehabilitation into the existing statewide MUSC stroke telehealth program. This could bring telerehabilitation to the 40 hospitals and 126 community clinics in the South Carolina telehealth network.
  • Steve Kautz, Ph.D., was a co-author with an international team of researchers on a recently published study in the prestigious journal Lancet. The research conducted represents the first positive Phase 3 study of a neuromodulation technique for stroke recovery. The article is titled ”Vagusnerve stimulation paired with rehabilitation for upper limb motor function after ischemic stroke (VNS-REHAB): a randomized, blinded, pivotal, device trial.” Kautz was also recently recognized as the recipient of the 2021 Peggy Schachte Research Mentor Award.
  • Dave Fitzgerald, DHA, CCP, LP, recently co-authored the new practice guidelines for reducing blood loss during open heart surgery, published by AmSECT and three other professional societies.
  • Patty Coker-Bolt, was selected for a Fulbright Scholarship Award to Trinidad and Tobago for the 2021-2022 academic year.
  • Congratulations to Gil Boissonneault, Ph.D., PA-C, professor in the Division of Physical Therapy and Debora Brown, PT, DPT, FNAP, professor in the Division of Physical Therapy, on their recent retirements. We thank you both for your commitment to our college, alumni, students, and the community!
  • The following faculty members have taken on new roles within CHP:
    • Michele Ballister, DNP, CRNA, is now the assistant director of Anesthesia for Nurses Division.
    • Sara Kraft, PT, DPT, is now the assistant director of the Physical Therapy Division.
    • Angela Mund, DNP, CRNA, is now the chairperson of the Department of Clinical Sciences.
    • Lesli Woodall, MSPAS, PA-C, is now the assistant director for the Physician Assistant Studies Program.

I want to thank you for your continued support, and I hope that you and your loved ones continue to stay well. 

Zoher F. Kapasi, PT, Ph.D., MBA, FAPTA
Dean and professor
College of Health Professions