College News

January 21, 2021

Faculty Updates

Pinar Emecen-Huja

We are excited to announce that Pinar Emecen-Huja, D.D.S., Ph.D., will serve as director of the Master of Science in Dentistry (MSD) program beginning January 2021. She replaces Zach Evans, D.M.D., Ph.D., who left to serve in private practice. Emecen-Huja brings a wealth of experience to the appointment. She also has an exceptional track record as a clinical scholar and research adviser to residents, graduate and predoctoral students. At the University of Kentucky, she led interprofessional education and training programs. Her periodontics research agenda is quite active with many contemporary publications in high impact journals. Please welcome Dr. Emecen-Huja!

Dr. Monica Cayouette

The MUSC Board of Trustees approved Monica Cayouette, D.M.D., for tenure as associate professor in the Department of Oral Rehabilitation at the MUSC James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine. This position became effective Jan. 1, 2021. We are honored to have such a tremendous, dedicated and passionate dentist among our faculty members. Congratulations, Dr. Cayouette!

Melissa Hunter

Melissa Hunter, an Ohio native, will join the College of Dental Medicine as assistant dean of Finance and Administration. Hunter comes to the college with more than 20 years of experience in higher education administration. Most recently, she worked at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy. Additionally, Hunter previously served as director of Accounting Operations in the Controller's Office for MUSC for close to eight years and served as associate vice president of Academic Budget and Resource Management at Kent State.

2020 Faculty Awards

Dr. W. Carter Brown holding the 2020 Junior Faculty Award.

W. Carter Brown, D.M.D., was awarded both the Junior Faculty Research Award and the Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Criteria for the research awards includes, but is not limited to, maintenance of a research program that is beginning and is likely to be sustained, authorship of scholarly publications appearing in quality peer-reviewed journals, authorship of patents and much more. Criteria for the teaching award includes, but is not limited to, outstanding teaching evaluations in classroom or clinic (student or peer), successful adoption of novel teaching and learning technologies, superlative annual faculty evaluation, and much more.

Dr. Loring Ross holding the 2020 Part-Time Faculty Award. 
Dr. Ross
Dr. Edward Murphy holding the 2020 Affiliate Faculty Award. 
Dr. Murphy
Dr. William Sasser holding the 2020 Affiliate Faculty Award. 
Dr. Sasser

Affiliate and part-time faculty were recognized as well. Loring Ross, D.D.S., was awarded the Part-time Faculty Award. Edward T. Murphy, M.D., and William Sasser, M.D., both received an Affiliate Faculty Award. Affiliate and part-time faculty may be nominated for teaching excellence or research accomplishments. All award winners were nominated by their peers at the College of Dental Medicine.

Please join us in congratulating these four outstanding individuals on the hard work and dedication they provide to the college and to dentistry as a whole.

Steed awarded AAOMS Challenge Coin

Dr. Martin Steed

Please join us in celebrating Martin Steed, D.D.S., a South Carolina Society of Maxillofacial Surgery member, who was recently honored with an American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) Advocacy Challenge Coin! The coin recognizes oral and maxillofacial surgeons who have made significant advocacy contributions on behalf of the association.

Resident graduate wins national community service award

Dr. Frances Gouldin

Frances Gouldin, D.D.S., AEGD Class of 2020, was awarded the first Sandra Mitchell Dental Resident Community Service Award. The American Board of General Dentistry chose her because of her selfless commitment and dedication to providing dental oral health services to the underserved community. Gouldin gave her $1,000 award to the North Charleston Dental Outreach Clinic, where she continues to provide services. Congratulations and thank you, Dr. Gouldin!

2020 virtual Dental Day

The college’s 22nd Annual Dental Day was held virtually Friday, Oct. 30, 2020. A total of 243 participants attended including potential dental applicants, pre-health advisers, MUSC faculty members and students. In addition to South Carolina, participants represented universities from all over the U.S. including Alabama, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Virginia. Participants received extensive information about the dental program, admissions process, U.S. Navy Scholarship Program, the Dental Scientist Training Program and financial aid. A student panel and virtual tour of the dental facility culminated the experience.

College of Dental Medicine alum appointed Chair of Radiology at MUSC

Reginald Munden

Former faculty member and Class of ’81 alum Reginald Munden, M.D., D.M.D., has been appointed chair of the Department of Radiology following an extensive national search. He will begin this role April 1, 2021. Munden will hold the additional role of Radiology ICCE Chief. Congratulations Dr. Munden!

Keywords: College News