CTRE Faculty


Raymond Anton  Raymond FA. Anton, MD
Distinguished University Professor
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Center for Drug & Alcohol Programs (CDAP)
Director, Clinical Neurobiology Laboratory 
 Mary Evelyn Armstrong  Mary Evelyn Armstrong, MA, CRA
Administrative Manager
College of Medicine Dean's Office
Former Conflict of Interest Officer
 Jason Arnold Jason F. Arnold, JD, MPH
Director Global Health Programs and Special Projects
Director of Operations, Global Health and Environmental Health Sciences
NYU College of Global Public Health, Assistant Director
Clinical and Translational Research Ethics Fellowship, MUSC
 Teresa Atz Teresa Atz, RN, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
College of Nursing, MUSC
 Jennifer Baker Jennifer Baker, PhD
Professor of Philosophy
College of Charleston
 Herman Blake J. Herman Blake, PhD (Sociology)
Former Humanities Scholar in Residence, MUSC
Former Professor of Health Professions & Dental Medicine, MUSC
Founding Provost, Oakes College at the University of California-Santa Cruz
Former Executive Director, Gullah Geechee Cultural Heritage Corridor Commission
 Kathleen Brady Kathleen T. Brady, MD, PhD
Vice President for Research, MUSC
Professor and Director, Clinical Neuroscience Division
Associate Provost, Clinical and Translational Research
Director, South Carolina Clinical and Translational Research Institute
 Andrea Boan Andrea Boan, PhD
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Director, Clinical and Translational Research Ethics Fellowship Program
Course Director, MCR/ETH 750, ETH 789, ETH 738, ETH 705
 Laura Carpenter Laura Carpenter, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics and Psychiatry, MUSC
SC LEND Training Director
Division of Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
 Carmela Epright Carmela Epright, PhD
Professor of Philosophy
Furman University
 Ann Ervin Ann Rice Ervin, JD, MA (Bioethics)
Attorney, Motley Rice, LLC
 Grant Goodrich Grant Goodrich, PhD
Professor of Philosophy
The Citadel: The Military College of South Carolina
 Jesse Goodwin Jesse S. Goodwin, PhD
Chief Innovation Officer
 John Ikonomidis John Ikonomidis, MD, PhD
Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
 Edward Krug Edward Krug, PhD
Professor of Regenerative Medicine and Cell Biology
Associate Dean for Postdoctoral Affairs
 Daniel Lackland Daniel Lackland, DrPH
Professor of Neurology
Associate Program Director Translational Workforce Development
Director, Master of Science in Clinical Research
Director, MUSC Stroke Research and Education Center
 Walter Limehouse Walter E. Limehouse, MD, MA (Bioethics)
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Former Chair, MUH Ethics Committee
Chair, CTRE Consultation Service
 M A McCrackin M.A. McCrackin, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Comparative Medicine
College of Medicine
 Susan Newman Susan D. Newman, PhD, RN, CRRN
Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Director, PhD in Nursing Science Program
 Robert Sade Robert M. Sade, MD
Distinguished University Professor
Professor of Surgery
Director, Institute of Human Values in Health Care, MUSC
Director, SCTR Ethics Program
 David Schenck David Schenck, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
Director, Ethics Program, MUHA
 Susan Sonne Susan C. Sonne, PharmD
Associate Professor, Clinical Neuroscience Division
Associate Program Director, Regulatory Knowledge and Support
 Ida Spruill Ida L. J. Spruill, PhD, RN (Deceased)
Associate Professor Emerita
College of Nursing, MUSC
 David Wendler David Wendler, PhD
Head, Section in Research Ethics
Department of Bioethics
National Institutes of Health